Henry Wallman Prize Ceremony 2020

Henry Wallman Prize Ceremony 2020

När: 18/11/2020 , 13:00 - 15:00

Welcome to attend the digital price ceremony of the Henry Wallman prize in medical technology. This year’s prize will be awarded to associate professor Emma Aneheim.

The Henry Wallman prize is an innovation prize in medical technology, which from 2018 will be awarded annually to young researchers or graduate students who, in close collaboration between expertise in technology and health care, successfully have transferred new knowledge from academia to practical medical care. Henry Wallman came to Chalmers in 1948, and was a pioneer in biomedical engineering research and development. The Foundation for Biomedical Engineering (Stiftelsen Medicin och Teknik) at Chalmers is hosting the prize.

This year, the foundation is proud to announce that the 2020 prize will be awarded to Associate Professor Emma Aneheim with the motivation:

In her research, Emma Aneheim has developed a technology for targeted radiation therapy against cancer. The technology is based on so-called astatinated antibodies and Emma Aneheim has played a crucial role in developing an automated production platform for astatinated drugs in a reproducible, standardized and GMP-adapted way. The method forms the basis for a biotech company, Alpha Therapy Solutions AB. The company is now marketing a technology giving researchers across the world a tool for clinical trials with astatinated drugs.

13:00 – 13:15 Introduction by professors Bengt Arne Sjöqvist and Kaj Lindecrantz
13:15 – 13:35 Emma Aneheim
13:35 – 13:40 Break
13:40 – 13:55 Stig Palm, Associate professor at the Department of radiophysics at Göteborg university
13:55 – 14:10 Per Albertsson, Associate professor and oncologist at Sahlgrenska Academy & Sahlgrenska University Hospital
14:10 – 14:30 Dr. Jean-François Gestin, Head of Chemistry and Radiochemistry
Nuclear Oncology Research Team at the Universite de Nantes, France
14:30 – 14:40 The Foundation for Biomedical Engineering hands over the prize

When? 13:00 – 14:40 on 18 November, 2020
Where? Zoom, link is emailed the day before the event

The prize ceremony will this year be digital. The last time to sign up is 12:00 on 17 November. If you would like to sign up after that, send an email to: helene.lindstrom@medtechwest.se.

About Jean-François Gestin
Jean-François Gestin obtained his PhD in 1989 after spending 2 years at the Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA. He joined the research group of Pr. Jean-François Chatal in 1991 as responsible of research (CR2 INSERM) and obtained his HDR (authorization to direct research) in 1995. He is now Director of Research (INSERM) and head of the chemistry and radiopharmacy research group part of the team 13 (directed by Pr. Michel Chérel) dedicated to Research in Nuclear Oncology integrated in the Centre of Research in Cancerology et Immunology Nantes Angers (CRCINA), France. This team integrates several skills including chemistry, radiochemistry, radiopharmacy, biology, imaging and clinical studies.

About Emma
Emma Aneheim has a master’s degree in chemical engineering and a PhD in nuclear chemistry from Chalmers University of Technology. She now holds a position at the Department of Radiation Physics, Sahlgrenska Academy, where her sphere of activities includes clinical studies of ovarian cancer treatment using her technology. Emma Aneheim is a good example of what can be achieved when high engineering competence and clinical problems meet in a fruitful collaboration across disciplines.

Who is Henry Wallman?
Professor Henry Wallman was a pioneer in bio-medical engineering research and development. His work in the 1950s laid the foundation for Chalmers University of Technology and also important parts in Swedish research in the field. An important part of Henry Wallman’s deed was his philosophy and vision around close collaboration between technical and medical expertise to achieve success in his work. This approach has since characterized the activities and the people who have directly followed in his tracks at Chalmers – from now deceased Professor Torsten Olsson, via Kaj Lindecrantz, Bengt Arne Sjöqvist, Mikael Persson and Bo Håkansson, until today’s researchers and Ph.D. students.

Read more about Alpha Therapy Solutions>>