MedTech West is a joint venture and was founded in 2009 by Chalmers University of TechnologyGothenburg UniversityUniversity of BoråsVästra Götalandsregionen, and Sahlgrenska University Hospital.

Read about the 10 years celebration>>

Parts Committee

The governing parties of MedTech West are all equally represented in our Parts Committee.
The Parts Committee is the highest decision-making body and decides on financing, overall budget frame and strategic direction of MedTech West.

The members are:

Anders Carlberg (Head of Department R&D and Education, Regional Development, Västra Götaland Region)

Ragne Emardson (Research Supervisor and Dean of Faculty of Textiles, Engineering and Business, University of Borås)

Caterina Finizia (Director R&D, Education and Innovation, Sahlgrenska University Hospital)

Agneta Holmäng (Dean of Sahlgrenska Academy, Gothenburg University)

Anders Karlström (Head of Department of Electrical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology)

Steering Committee

MedTech West’s Steering Committee consists of representatives from the operative level of the governing parties. The Steering Committee decides on matters related to activities that will lead to MTW reaching its goals as well as staffing, details on how MTW’s budget should be spent and more.

The members are:

Jenny Almqvist
Regional Developer Life Science, R&D and Education,
Regional Development, Västra Götaland Region

Lina Strand Backman
Head of Department of Innovationsplattformen,
Västra Götaland Region

Mikael Elam
Professor Clinical Neurophysiology,
Chief physician at Clinical Neuroscience,
Sahlgrenska Academy

Kaj Lindecrantz
Professor Biomedical Engineering
at Karolinska Institute, Stockholm and University of Borås

Mikael Persson
Professor Biomedical Engineering,
Head of Division of Electrical Engineering,
Chalmers University of Technology

Alessio Degl’innocenti (Head of Gothia Forum, Västra Götaland Region)

Malin Hollmark (Project manager Innovation & Growth, Swedish Medtech)

Fotograf: Emmy Jonsson []